Here’s to smiles.

So I have decided to take the plunge and start to blog. Whether this is a good or bad idea will of course come in time, but as of now it’s fantastic. Life is actually 100% fantastic. Yes, as always, there are good days and not as good days…but I have a strong belief that one can always control their own emotions and thus change them if they are unsatisfied. Possibly this notion came from the fact that since I can remember, my mother, a wonderful, caring, smart and devoted woman, always instilled a simple quote into all four of her children’s minds: “Most people are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” -Abe Lincoln. Whether it was the quote, or other outside factors, this idea of the possibility to change your own perspective on your day has really shaped my life into what it is today.

Most will ask how can you change perspectives? How can you turn your day around by yourself? Simple. I’ve always used my rule of threes. If I am ever having a bad day, (1) I first take a minute to sit on the ground, stretch my legs and take a few breaths. During that time (2) I close my eyes and reflect on at least 3 positive things in my life, letting those things take over my thought process. Lastly, (3) I take a deep breath, open my eyes and smile. Even if the smile is forced, it makes all of the difference. Smiles can make the difference in your life.

I’ve noticed that most people that have unsatisfying lives tend to not take time to themselves to stop and smile. This tiny act can move mountains when it comes to your outlook and emotion towards a day. When in doubt, take a minute and use the three steps. Stretch, think of 3 positive things, and smile.

One thought on “Here’s to smiles.

Leave a comment